Category Archives: Marble Bar

1967 Football Port Hedland v Marble Bar

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Port Hedland v Marble Bar 1967

Football hit the front page of The Hedland Times in August 1967.    The two rival towns of Port Hedland and Marble Bar played a footy match with Colin Matheson as the field umpire.

Some of the faces recognised in the photos were:

Noel Crichton-Browne, Roger Richardson, Junior Bracken,

Can you pick the rest?


Hedland Times 10 August 1967.  Umpire Colin Matheson
Hedland Times 10 August 1967. Umpire Colin Matheson

Formation of the De Grey Football Association 1969

Minutes of an inaugural Meeting held Sunday 13 April 1969

Nomination for President: Colin Matheson.  Proposed John Ernshaw Port Hedland Seconded Ron Edwards Marble Bar. Unanimous.

Senior Vice President: Wally Podmore – Declined.  Norm Bradbury. Proposed W. Podmore Finucane Island, Seconded D O’Brien Finucane Island. Elected.

Junior Vice President: Dennis O’Meara.  Proposed R Edwards Marble Bar, Seconded B Milner Port Hedland. Unanimous

Secretary: Tony Devlin. Proposed J Coulis Port Hedland, seconded Mr McClit Port Hedland. Elected.

Each Club advised names of delegates:

Goldsworthy: Roy Jameson, Kevin Cottrell

Marble Bar: Ron Edwards, Ron Edwards “younger”

Finucane Island: Wally Podmore, Doug O’Brien, Norm Bradbury

Panthers: Pat Love, Eric Pratt

Rovers: Len Mitchell, S Bennett

General Business:

Name of Association: Pilbara Football Association.  Moved Norm Bradbury, seconded Dennis O’Meara.  De Grey Football Association. Moved Ron Edwards, seconded R Edwards jnr.

Decision:  De Grey Football Association.

Minutes of Meeting held 13 April 1969
Minutes of Meeting held 13 April 1969