Port Hedland Rovers 1967

From closer scrutiny of Colin Matheson’s records it appears that the formation of Port Hedland Rovers was in 1967.

Shortly after arriving in Port Hedland in 1962, football umpire Colin Matheson started to organise football matches against the two pub rival teams, The Pier Hotel and the Esplanade.  He even roped in Father Middleton, the local catholic priest to make up the numbers.

In 1967 he formed the Port Hedland Football Association between three clubs – Finucane Island, Rovers and Towns (later known as Panthers).

In 1969, the competition expanded to include Marble Bar and Goldsworthy and a name change to De Grey Football Association.

Port Hedland Rovers were a force to be reckoned with in the 1970s, winning premierships in 1971, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, and 1978.

There was a drought of premierships during the 1980s until they won their next premiership in 1990.

Significantly Port Hedland Rovers are one of the top teams in Pilbara football with a strong club and club history.

Port Hedland Rovers 1970s
Port Hedland Rovers 1970s

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: