Tag Archives: Finucane Island

Barefoot footy in the Pilbara

In the 1960s, footy games were played on a sandy patch cleared of rocks and stones.

According to Pat Love, legendary goal scorer for Panthers and Rovers, playing footy games in bare feet was easier on these sandy Pilbara ovals.

Colin Matheson‘s football collection has lots of photos capturing the tough breed of footballer in the Pilbara.

This photo collection is a draft.  Please excuse the amateur attempt and publishing software notation across the screen.  A better version will be updated shortly.



Finucane Island Football Club 1970s

From Colin Matheson’s records it appears the Finucane Island Football Club was started by Wally Podmore in 1967.

Significantly for Pilbara football, Finucane appointed the first woman to hold an official position with any club since the association was formed in 1969.  Her name was Miss Pam Romero age 20, who was made secretary of the club in 1973.

Miss Romero said she took on the position because she had always been interested in football.  (Editor note:  Pam married Dave Batt, first on the left in the back row, photo below.)

In 1973 Finucane Island – which did not win a match last year (1972) – was adopting a professional approach in an endeavour to improve its position during the season.

They newly appointed president, Mr Lawrie Wright, said the club would try to entice Players from Perth.  “The club will do its utmost to arrange employment for suitable players” he said.

Club players included: Dave Batt, Laurie Walters (RIP) Junior Brackin, Derek Kerr, Les Tullock, Michael Lockyer, Eric Snook(RIP), Albert Pianta, Thomas Monaghan, Cyril Gordon.

Editor:  No fly-in fly out back in the seventies.  The footy clubs did their best to attract football players to come and live in the Pilbara towns to play football.  There was even a town and a football oval at Finucane Island believe it or not!

Finucane Island
Finucane Island
Miss Pam Romero (20) made secretary of the Finucane Island Football Club
Miss Pam Romero (20) made secretary of the Finucane Island Football Club

Formation of the De Grey Football Association 1969

Minutes of an inaugural Meeting held Sunday 13 April 1969

Nomination for President: Colin Matheson.  Proposed John Ernshaw Port Hedland Seconded Ron Edwards Marble Bar. Unanimous.

Senior Vice President: Wally Podmore – Declined.  Norm Bradbury. Proposed W. Podmore Finucane Island, Seconded D O’Brien Finucane Island. Elected.

Junior Vice President: Dennis O’Meara.  Proposed R Edwards Marble Bar, Seconded B Milner Port Hedland. Unanimous

Secretary: Tony Devlin. Proposed J Coulis Port Hedland, seconded Mr McClit Port Hedland. Elected.

Each Club advised names of delegates:

Goldsworthy: Roy Jameson, Kevin Cottrell

Marble Bar: Ron Edwards, Ron Edwards “younger”

Finucane Island: Wally Podmore, Doug O’Brien, Norm Bradbury

Panthers: Pat Love, Eric Pratt

Rovers: Len Mitchell, S Bennett

General Business:

Name of Association: Pilbara Football Association.  Moved Norm Bradbury, seconded Dennis O’Meara.  De Grey Football Association. Moved Ron Edwards, seconded R Edwards jnr.

Decision:  De Grey Football Association.

Minutes of Meeting held 13 April 1969
Minutes of Meeting held 13 April 1969